China International Peace Research Center

Confucius Peace Prize

Confucius Peace Prize

The Confucius Peace Prize (simplified Chinese: 孔子和平奖; traditional Chinese: 孔子和平獎; pinyin: Kǒngzǐ Hépíngjiǎng) was a Chinese alternative to the Nobel Peace Prize established in 2010 by the Association of Chinese Indigenous Arts in the People's Republic of China (PRC). The prize was created in response to a proposal by businessman Liu Zhiqin that criticized the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize, which was awarded to Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo. The chairman of the committee said that the award existed to "promote world peace from an Eastern perspective", and Confucian peace specifically. The original cash prize given to the winner in 2010 was ¥100,000 RMB (US$15,000).

SlName CountryFlagYearAwarded For
1Lien ChanTaiwan2010for positive ties between Taiwan and Mainland china.
2Vladimir PutinRussia2011for his opposition to NATO's Libya action.
3Kofi AnnanSouth Africa2012for having revitalised the UN and having given priority to Human Right.
4Yuan LongpingChina2013for outstanding contribution towards agricultural research.
5YichengChina2013for his work as chairman of the Buddhist Association of China and his contribution for Chinese Buddhism.
6Fidel CastroCuba2014"never used any violence or force when faced with problems and conflicts in international relations, especially in Cuba's relationship with the United States."
7Robert MugabeZimbabwe2015for working tirelessly to build the political and economics stability of Zimbabwe.
8 Shen LiangliangChina2016serving on the mission in Mali
9Yang ShupengChina2016serving on the mission in South Sudan
10Li LeiChina2016serving on the mission in South Sudan
11Hun SenCambodia2017for his patriotic oppertunism than official response

Confucius Peace Prize Awardee (1980 ~ 1992)

Lien Chan

Confucius Peace Prize 2010

Vladimir Putin

Confucius Peace Prize 2011

Kofi Annan

Confucius Peace Prize 2012

Yuan Longping

Confucius Peace Prize 2013


Confucius Peace Prize 2013

Fidel Castro

Confucius Peace Prize 2014

Robert Mugabe

Confucius Peace Prize 2015

Shen Liangliang

Confucius Peace Prize 2016

Yang Shupeng

Confucius Peace Prize 2016

Li Lei

Confucius Peace Prize 2016

Hun Sen

Confucius Peace Prize 2017

Confucius Peace Prize 2012