Gandhi Mandela Awards

Gandhi Mandela Awards

Gandhi Mandela Awards is one of the most prestigious International award established by "The Gandhi Mandela Foundation" for promoting Gandhian and Nelson Mandela’s values, of community service and social development, selected by world’s biggest constitutional jury headed by Justice K. G. Balakrishnan (Former Chief Justice of India and Former Chairman NHRC India), and includes Justice Dipak Misra (Former Chief Justice of India), Justice Kedar Nath Upadhyay (Former Chief Justice of Nepal & former Chairman NHRC Nepal), Justice Md. Tafazzul Islam (Former Chief Justice of Bangladesh), Justice Gyan Sudha Misra (Former Justice supreme court of India). The award is conferred annually, and the nominations are invited from the Head of the States including President, Vice president, Prime Minister or any leading public figure from various countries all over the world. The Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela are the great world leaders known for their ideals & principles of peace, non - violence, unity & freedom. Both are known as father figures in their respective nations and helped shape their democracies. The Gandhi Mandela Award for Excellence Commemorates the Legacy of the two great men. Gandhi Mandela Award consists of a Gold Medal & Certificate which is made by Indian Government Mint, Kolkata and contains 85.75 grams of Gold.

SlName CountryFlagYearAwarded For
1Tenzin Gyatso ( 14th Dalai Lama )TibetChina 2019carried legacies of Mahatma Gandhi & Nelson Mandela.

Gandhi Mandela Awards Laureates (2025-2019)

Tenzin Gyatso

Gandhi Mandela Awards 2019