Gandhi Peace Prize

Gandhi Peace Prize

The International Gandhi Peace Prize is an award instituted by the Government of India to honor individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to promoting peace and non-violence. The prize was established in 1995 on the 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, the leader of the Indian independence movement and a pioneer of the philosophy of non-violence. The award is given annually, and the recipient receives a citation and a monetary award. The criteria for selecting awardees include their commitment to non-violence, their contributions to social and economic development, and their promotion of communal harmony. The award carries ₹1 crore (equivalent to ₹1.2 crore or US$150,000 in 2023) in cash, convertible in any currency in the world, a plaque and a citation. It is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, creed or gender. A jury consisting of the Prime Minister of India, the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, the Chief Justice of India, Speaker of the Lok Sabha and two other eminent person appointed every 3years eligible for reappointment decides the awardee each year.

SlName CountryFlagYearAwarded For
1Julius Nyerere Tanzania1995Tanzanian politician who served as the leader of Tanzania, and previously Tanganyika, from 1960 until his retirement in 1985.
2A. T. Ariyaratne Sri Lanka1996Founder of Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement
3Gerhard Fischer Germany1997German diplomat, recognised for his work against leprosy and polio
4Ramakrishna Mission India1998Founded by Swami Vivekananda for promoting social welfare, tolerance, and non-violence among disadvantaged groups
5Baba Amte India1999Social worker, known particularly for his work for the rehabilitation and empowerment of poor people suffering from leprosy
6Nelson Mandela South Africa2000Former President of South Africa
7Grameen Bank Bangladesh2000Founded by Muhammad Yunus
8John Hume Ireland2001Northern Irish Politician and major figure in the Northern Ireland peace process
9Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan India2002Educational trust that emphasises Indian culture
10Václav Havel Czech Republic2003Last President of Czechoslovakia and first President of the Czech Republic
11Coretta Scott King United States2004Activist and civil rights leader.
12Desmond Tutu South Africa2005South African cleric and activist.He was South African social rights activist and retired Anglican bishop who rose to worldwide fame during the 1980s as an opponent of apartheid.
13Chandi Prasad Bhatt India2013Environmentalist, social activist and pioneer of the Chipko movement. Founded Dasholi Gram Swarajya Sangh (DGSS)
14ISRO India2014Space agency of the Indian Govt. Objective is to advance space technology and deliver the applications of it
15Vivekananda Kendra India2015A Hindu spiritual organisation based on the principles preached by Swami Vivekananda
16Akshaya Patra Foundation India2016A non-profit organisation in India that runs school lunch programme across India
17Sulabh InternationalIndia2016A social service organization that works to promote human rights, environmental sanitation, non-conventional sources of energy, waste management and social reforms through education.
18Ekal Abhiyan Trust India2017Contribution in providing Education for Rural and Tribal Children in remote areas pan India, Rural Empowerment, Gender and Social Equality.
19Yōhei Sasakawa Japan2018For his contribution in Leprosy Eradication in India and across the world.
20Qaboos bin Said Al Said Oman2019For contributions for social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.
21Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Bangladesh2020For his contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.
22Gita Press India2021For outstanding contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.

Gandhi Peace Prize Awardee (1995 ~ 2005)

Julius Nyerere

Gandhi Peace Prize 1985

A. T. Ariyaratne

Gandhi Peace Prize 1996

Gerhard Fischer

Gandhi Peace Prize 1997

Ramakrishna Mission

Gandhi Peace Prize 1998

Linus C. Pauling

Gandhi Peace Prize 1999

James Paul Warburg

Gandhi Peace Prize 2000

Grameen Bank

Gandhi Peace Prize 2000

John Hume

Gandhi Peace Prize 2001

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan

Gandhi Peace Prize 2002

Václav Havel

Gandhi Peace Prize 2003

Coretta Scott King

Gandhi Peace Prize 2004

Desmond Tutu

Gandhi Peace Prize 2005

Gandhi Peace Prize Awardee (2006 ~ 2020)

Chandi Prasad Bhatt

Gandhi Peace Prize 2013


Gandhi Peace Prize 2014

Vivekananda Kendra

Gandhi Peace Prize 2015

Akshaya Patra Foundation

Gandhi Peace Prize 2016

Sulabh International

Gandhi Peace Prize 2016

Ekal Abhiyan Trust

Gandhi Peace Prize 2017

Yōhei Sasakawa

Gandhi Peace Prize 2018

Qaboos bin Said Al Said

Gandhi Peace Prize 2019

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

Gandhi Peace Prize 2020

Gandhi Peace Prize Awardee (2021 ~ 2030)

Gita Press

Gandhi Peace Prize 2021