Goi Peace Award

Goi Peace Award

Established in 2000, the Goi Peace Award is an international award presented annually to honor individuals and organizations in various fields that have made outstanding contributions toward the realization of a peaceful and harmonious world as envisioned in the Declaration for All Life on Earth. They are selected not only in recognition of their past achievements, but for their ongoing contribution to building a better future. The Goi Peace Award is usually presented at a ceremony during the annual Goi Peace Foundation Forum in Tokyo, where the laureate takes center stage to deliver a commemorative address and receive a medal and a diploma together with a monetary prize. In addition to this annual award, the Culture of Peace Special Award is presented occasionally to honor individuals and organizations in various fields that have notably contributed to spreading and fostering a Culture of Peace around the world.

SlName CountryFlagYearAwarded For
31Scilla ElworthyUnited Kingdom2023In recognition of her lifelong dedication to prevent and transform conflicts and build sustainable peace throughout the world.
30Satish KumarUnited Kingdom2022In recognition of his lifelong dedication to campaigning for ecological regeneration, social justice, and spiritual fulfillment.
29Gunter PauliBelgium2021In recognition of his pioneering work in developing sustainable design and innovative business models which promote the well-being of all in harmony with the environment.
28Jacques AttaliFrance2020In recognition of his visionary leadership in promoting a positive economy and a positive future for all.
27Nipun MehtaUnited States2019In recognition of their collective efforts to transform the world through generosity.
26ServiceSpaceUnited States2019In recognition of their collective efforts to transform the world through generosity.
25Her Royal Highness Princess Lalla HasnaaMorocco2018In honor of her leadership in promoting the protection of the environment and improving people’s quality of life, particularly through education and advocacy for sustainable development.
24Kenny AusubelUnited States2017For their pioneering work to promote nature-inspired innovations for restoring the Earth and our human community.
23Nina SimonsUnited States2017For their pioneering work to promote nature-inspired innovations for restoring the Earth and our human community.
22Nursultan NazarbayevKazakhtan2016For his leadership in promoting nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, and for his initiative to foster peace and unity through interfaith dialogue and inter-cultural ties.
21Hafsat Abiola-CostelloNigeria2016In recognition of her unwavering commitment to advance women’s rights and leadership and pave the way for true democracy in Africa.
20Lynne TwistUnited States2015In recognition of her lifelong commitment to empower humanity in creating a thriving, just, and sustainable world for all.
19Kazuo InamoriJapan2014For his contribution towards building an economy and society based on new ethics, by setting an example with his ethical and visionary management philosophy.
18José Antonio AbreuVenezuela2013In recognition of his extraordinary achievement in transforming the lives of young people through music.
17Silsilah Dialogue MovementPhilippines2013In recognition of its many years of commitment to promote dialogue for peace and solidarity among Muslims and Christians in the Philippines.
16Helena Norberg-HodgeSweden2012For her pioneering work in the localization movement to help create a more sustainable and equitable world.
15Bill StricklandUnited States2011For his commitment and innovative social work to help the underserved population transform their lives.
14Deepak ChopraUnited States2010For his visionary leadership in promoting global peace and well being through personal transformation.
13Bruce LiptonUnited States2009For his pioneering work in the field of new biology, which has contributed to a greater understanding of life and empowered many people to take control of their own lives.
12Bill GatesUnited States2008For his visionary leadership to help create a more equitable world through philanthropy.
11Bill DraytonUnited States2007For his pioneering work to support social entrepreneurs and thereby paving the way for a truly innovative citizen sector to emerge around the world.
10Duane ElginUnited States2006For promoting a new vision, consciousness and lifestyle that fosters a more sustainable and spiritual culture.
9Mikhail GorbachevRussia2005For promoting new thinking and values for a more just, peaceful and sustainable world order.
8Lester BrownUnited States2005For promoting global environmental awareness and a sustainable and equitable world through many years of research, analysis and advocacy.
7Oscar Arias SánchezCosta Rica2004For his tireless efforts to promote global peace, democracy and human progress.
6Genshitsu SenJapan2003In recognition of his contribution to international cultural exchange and goodwill through the Way of Tea.
5Robert MullerFrance2003In recognition of his life’s work for world peace as a visionary leader and educator.
4Takeshi UmeharaJapan2002For revealing timeless wisdom for a harmonious future through his unique and comprehensive study of Japanese culture.
3Ervin LaszloHungary2001For promoting planetary consciousness for a new and sustainable civilization based on his extraordinary insights and vision.
2Foundation for Cultural HeritageJapan2000In recognition of their contribution to world peace through preservation and restoration of world cultural heritage and assets around the globe including sites in conflict areas.
1James LovelockUnited Kingdom2000For contributing to changing people’s awareness of the Earth and inspiring the global environmental movement through the “Gaia Theory.

Goi Peace Award Laureates (2030 ~ 2021)

Satish Kumar

Goi Peace Award 2022

Gunter Pauli

Goi Peace Award 2021

Goi Peace Award Laureates (2020 ~ 2011)

Jacques Attali

Goi Peace Award 2020

Nipun Mehta

Goi Peace Award 2019

Kenny Ausubel

Goi Peace Award 2017

Nina Simons

Goi Peace Award 2017

Nursultan Nazarbayev

Culture of Peace Award 2016

Lynne Twist

Goi Peace Award 2015

Kazuo Inamori

Goi Peace Award 2014

José Antonio Abreu

Culture of Peace Award 2013

Helena Norberg-Hodge

Goi Peace Award 2012

Bill Strickland

Goi Peace Award 2011

Goi Peace Award Laureates (2010 ~ 2000)

Deepak Chopra

Goi Peace Award 2010

Bruce Lipton

Goi Peace Award 2009

Bill Gates

Goi Peace Award 2008

Bill Drayton

Goi Peace Award 2007

Duane Elgin

Goi Peace Award 2006

Mikhail Gorbachev

Goi Peace Award 2005

Lester Brown

Goi Peace Award 2005

Oscar Arias Sánchez

Goi Peace Award 2004

Genshitsu Sen

Cultural Peace Award 2003

Robert Muller

Goi Peace Award 2003

Takeshi Umehara

Goi Peace Award 2002

Ervin Laszlo

Goi Peace Award 2001

James Lovelock

Goi Peace Award 2000

Foundation for Cultural Heritage

Cultural Peace Award 2000