Man of Peace

Man of Peace

The Man of Peace is an award conceptualized in 1999 by the annual World Summit of Nobel Peace Laureates in Rome. The purpose of the award is to recognize individuals who "from personalities from the world of culture and entertainment who have stood up for human rights and for the spread of the principles of Peace and Solidarity in the world, made an outstanding contribution to international social justice and peace". The award was an initiative by former Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev, himself a winner of a Nobel Peace Prize. It is presented in Rome's Campidoglio (Capitoline Hill) by President Gorbachev, Walter Veltroni, Mayor of Rome, and the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates attending the annual summit meeting. In its early years the award was referred to as both the "Man for Peace" in Europe and "Man of Peace" in the United States. In 2006 its title was officially changed to "Man of Peace", also "Peace Summit Award".

SlName CountryFlagYearAwarded For
1Cindy SheehanUnited States2008promoting and preservation of world peace
2Rosalynn CarterUnited States2009promoting and preservation of world peace
3Jimmy CarterUnited States2009promoting and preservation of world peace
4Greg MortensonUnited States2010promoting and preservation of world peace
5Roy BourgeoisUnited States2011promoting and preservation of world peace

Man of Peace (2002 ~ 2020)

Roberto Benigni

Man of Peace 2002

Cat Stevens

Man of Peace 2004

Bob Geldof

Man of Peace 2005

Peter Gabriel

Man of Peace 2006

Don Cheadle

Man of Peace 2007

George Clooney

Man of Peace 2007


Man of Peace 2008

Annie Lennox

Man of Peace 2009

Roberto Baggio

Man of Peace 2010

Sean Penn

Man of Peace 2011

Sharon Stone

Man of Peace 2012

Rene Perez

Man of Peace 2014


Man of Peace 2005

Nihon Hidankyo

Man of Peace 2010